nicole bucher

spot-on — subtitling and translation in arts and culture

TRANSLATION

Translation from English, French and Dutch into German

  • I translate texts in the fields of art, design, literature, history, philosophy, politics, advertising and market research from English, French and Dutch into German.
  • My work includes articles for print and online media, media releases, essays, literary texts, scenarios, dialogues for plays or comics, exhibition texts for museums and festivals, texts for advertisements, slogans, brochures, flyers and websites, and questionnaires for studies and research.
  • Literature and poetry, hidden meaning, cultural references, wordplay, jokes, rhymes or slang are welcome challenges for me. They meet my love for arts and culture and I treat them with utmost respect, attention and affection.

 

nicole bucher transmits …

nicole bucher, boat

… and submerges

Far-reaching translations of culturally relevant text content in art, design, literature, history, philosophy, advertising

Full immersion for getting the message across

Navigating between distinct systems of language, sense, thought, belief, norms and values

On the spot for spot-on spotting and translation in culture, art and literature

Reading (between) the lines

Reading (between) the lines

SUBTITLING

  • I create subtitles (timecodes/spotting and texts of suitable length) for feature films, shorts, documentaries, animation films, films for exhibitions, visitor centres, corporate films and websites on the basis of mp4 files or QuickTime files.
  • My clients include film distributors, film production companies, film directors, film schools, museums and companies or authorities in all fields.
  • I collaborate with a wide circle of specialists and offer subtitles in English, French and Italian, translated by native speakers and linguists; more languages are available on request.
  • My subtitles are provided as STP, SRT, STL Text, QuickTime SMIL, Final Cut Pro XML, Text and other export files and can be imported to Avid Media Composer, Avid Xpress, Avid DS and Final Cut Pro 7 for editing; the subtitle files can also be passed on to Adobe Encore DVD, Apple DVD Studio Pro, Sonic Producer and Sonic Scenarist for authoring.

ABOUT ME

  • I am a certified translator DOZ FH (Dolmetscherschule Zürich) and specialist in cultural studies (University of Lucerne) with more than 20 years of experience in subtitling and translation, including an 18-year full-time inhouse position as a subtitler and translator at Cinetyp AG, Switzerland.
  • Amélie, Frida, Scoop, Django Unchained, Coffee and Cigarettes, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Mission Impossible, Shrek, Persepolis and Terror’s Advocate are some of the many films I subtitled for Swiss audiences.
  • I have a wide range of interests and a thirst for finding out more about the small and the big things in the world and everything in between. My predilection for culture, art, design, history and philosophy has turned me into an avid traveller of all continents, a visitor of exhibitions, museums, theatre, readings and concerts.
portrait_2

CONTACT

Nicole Bucher
Güterstrasse 2
CH–6005 Luzern

Phone Number: +41 79 393 31 98

nicole@nicolebucher.ch

Invalid Email
Invalid Number
© 2019, Nicole Bucher – Imprint

nicole bucher

spot-on — untertitelung und übersetzung im bereich der kunst und kultur

ÜBERSETZUNG

Übersetzungen aus dem Englischen, Französischen und Niederländischen ins Deutsche

  • Ich übersetze Texte aus den Bereichen Kunst, Design, Literatur, Geschichte, Philosophie, Politik, Werbung und Marktforschung aus dem Englischen, Französischen und Niederländischen ins Deutsche.
  • Zu meinen Spezialitäten gehören Artikel für Print- und Onlinemedien, Pressemitteilungen, Essays, literarische Texte, Drehbücher, Dialoge für Theater und Comics, Ausstellungstexte für Museen und Festivals, Texte für Werbung, Slogans, Prospekte, Flyer und Webseiten, Fragebögen für Umfragen und Forschung.
  • Literatur, Poesie, Untergründiges, kulturelle Referenzen, Wortspiele, Witze, Reime oder Slang erachte ich als genussvolle Herausforderung, die ich mit gebührender Aufmerksamkeit und Behutsamkeit angehe.

 

nicole bucher setzt über …

nicole bucher, boat

… und titelt unter

Präzise und prägnante und Untertitel für Spielfilme, Kurzfilme, Dokumentarfilme, Animationsfilme, Werbefilme

Eintauchen in die Tiefen von Film und Sprache

Navigieren zwischen Sprach-, Sinn-, Denk-, Glaubens-, Norm- und Wertwelten

Übersetzungen von kulturrelevanten Textinhalten aus Kunst, Design, Literatur, Geschichte, Philosophie, Werbung

Wesentliches erkennen und übertragen

Auf und zwischen den Zeilen lesen

UNTERTITELUNG

  • Ich kreiere Untertitel (Timecodes/Spotting und Texte) für Spielfilme, Kurzfilme, Dokumentarfilme, Animationsfilme, Werbefilme, Firmenporträts, Filme für Museen, Ausstellungen, Besucherzentren.
  • Ich untertitle im Auftrag von Filmverleihern, Produktionsfirmen, Regisseuren, Filmschulen, Museen, Werbefirmen und Unternehmen aller Art, auf der Grundlage von mp4-Dateien oder QuickTime-Dateien.
  • Ich wirke in Zusammenarbeit mit einem breiten Kreis von Spezialisten und biete Untertitel in Englisch, Französisch und Italienisch von Übersetzern mit entsprechender Muttersprache an. Weitere Sprachen sind auf Anfrage erhältlich.
  • Die Untertitel können in den Formaten STP, SRT, STL Text, QuickTime SMIL, Final Cut Pro XML, Text oder weiteren Exportdateiformaten zur Verfügung gestellt werden und eignen sich unter anderem zur Weiterbearbeitung in Avid Media Composer, Avid Xpress, Avid DS, Final Cut Pro 7 und als Authoring-Grundlage für Adobe Encore DVD, Apple DVD Studio Pro, Sonic Producer und Sonic Scenarist.

ÜBER MICH

  • Ich bin ausgebildete Übersetzerin FH DOZ (Dolmetscherschule Zürich) und Kulturwissenschaftlerin (Universität Luzern) mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung als Übersetzerin und Untertitlerin, darunter 18 Jahre als Inhouse-Übersetzerin/Untertitlerin im Vollzeitpensum für die Cinetyp AG, Schweiz.
  • Untertitel für Amélie, Frida, Scoop, Django Unchained, Coffee and Cigarettes, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Mission Impossible, Shrek, L’Avocat de la terreur und so einige weitere.
  • Mir ist eine grosse Neugier für die kleinen und grossen Dinge in der Welt und denen dazwischen inhärent. Mein reges Interesse an Kulturen, Kunst, philosophischen Fragen, Design und Architektur führt mich auf Reisen, in Ausstellungen, Museen, Theater, Lesungen und Konzerte.
portrait_2

KONTAKT

Nicole Bucher
Güterstrasse 2
CH–6005 Luzern

Telefon: +41 79 393 31 98

nicole@nicolebucher.ch

Invalid Email
Invalid Number
© 2019, Nicole Bucher – Impressum